Canutillo ISD board appoints new trustee
Canutillo ISD board appoints new trustee
Posted on 12/08/2020
This is the image for the news article titled Canutillo ISD board appoints new trustee Tristan Hernandez will join the Canutillo Independent School District Board after trustees voted for him at a special board meeting on Tuesday, December 8, 2020.

Trustees interviewed interested candidates to fill the unexpired term of Mary Yglesias who resigned last month. Hernandez will be officially sworn in before the next Regular Board Meeting on December 15.

As a resident of Canutillo and a 2018 graduate of Canutillo High School, Hernandez looks forward to making a positive impact in the district, continuing its success and subsequently benefiting the community.

“I want to do my part to help our students grow and succeed,” Hernandez said. “I hope to increase student outreach, grow partnerships, and expand opportunities for students. I want students to follow their dreams and advance higher than they know. I look forward to bringing a new perspective to the board and inspire students.”

Board President Sergio Coronado said that trustees were pleased with the pool of applicants.

“We were very fortunate to have such an excellent group of great community members willing to serve,” Coronado said. “Board members were impressed by Hernandez's inspiration to bring a new perspective to the board and continue moving our district to greater heights.”

In Hernandez’s statement of philosophy, he shared his inspiration for applying to the board.

“I have great pride for the community that raised me. I know I can apply my own personal experience to create transparent and constructive lines of dialogue between myself, the other trustees, the superintendent, and the community to create meaningful policies, plans, and goals.”

This appointment follows the November general election when newly elected and re-elected trustees of the Canutillo ISD School Board were sworn into office. Patsy Mendoza was elected to serve her second term, as she previously served on the Board from 2010-2014. Sergio Coronado will serve his 5th term while Armando Rodriguez will begin his 4th consecutive term. Blanca Trout will begin her 2nd consecutive term. The Oaths of Office were conducted by El Paso County Criminal Court at Law 3 Judge Carlos Carrasco and Justice of the Peace Pct. 7 Stephanie Frietze.