National Assistant Principal of the Year
Jessica Carrillo Chosen as 2018 National Assistant Principal for Texas
Posted on 04/13/2018
This is the image for the news article titled Jessica Carrillo Chosen as 2018 National Assistant Principal for Texas

With a passion for showing students how to set and reach goals, Jessica Carrillo serves as a model for professional excellence in Canutillo ISD. She plays an active and vital role in molding her campus, Congressman Silvestre and Carolina Reyes Elementary School, into a 21st-century educational model. Carrillo’s work has led her to be named the 2018 National Assistant Principal for Texas by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA).

Focusing on positive behavior strategies and school safety, Carrillo was instrumental in bringing together different teams to improve campus culture, attendance and student achievement. When she saw an opportunity to help third through fifth-grade girls develop a positive mindset, Carrillo not only found and implemented a healthy living curriculum; she celebrated with them when they completed their first 5K race with her.
“Jessica has helped instill a positive culture in our community that is driven by high expectations for student achievement and positive behavior strategies,” Principal Debra Kerney, Ph.D., wrote in her recommendation letter. “She continues to model lifelong learning. Due to her strong belief in empowering students in the areas of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, Jessica is currently pursuing a National STEM Certification.”

The National Assistant Principal of the Year award is sponsored by TEPSA in coordination with the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP). The peer-selected award recognizes assistant principals who have demonstrated a positive impact on their students and learning.

Carrillo was selected as Assistant Principal of the Year in Region 19 by TEPSA in February. Students and staff gathered for a surprise assembly in her honor Friday, April 13. She attended the Awards Reception during the TEPSA Summer Conference in Austin, Texas June 13.