School Board Election

The Canutillo ISD Board of Trustees is comprised of seven community members who are elected at-large by the general public. Trustees provide service to the Canutillo community without financial compensation. They serve staggered four-year terms and elections are held biennially on the second Tuesday following the first Monday in November of even-numbered years. The elections of all Trustees are held in a joint election with state and county officers.

The Canutillo Independent School District will conduct school board trustee elections on Tuesday, November 3, 2020. The positions on the Board of Trustees to be elected are: 4 at-large positions. These seats are currently occupied by the following board members:

  • Annette Brigham
  • Sergio Coronado
  • Armando “Mando” Rodriguez
  • Blanca Trout

Below are the candidates for the four full-term positions in the order they will appear on the ballot.

  • Raymond Medlock
  • Sergio Coronado
  • Amber Whitley
  • Patricia “Patsy” Mendoza
  • Armando “Mando” Rodriguez
  • Alfonso “Al” Flores, Jr.
  • Annette Brigham
  • Blanca Trout

Board of Trustees Candidate Information

Important Dates:

•    First Day to File for a Place on the Ballot: Saturday, July 18, 2020
•    Last Day to File for a Place on the Ballot: Monday, August 17, 2020 at 5:00 p.m.
•    Candidate Orientation & Ballot Drawing: Monday, August 24, 2020
•    Meet the Candidates: October 1, 2020

•    Notice of Candidate Filing Period
•    Candidate Packet and Application for Place on the Ballot

Offices up for election in November 2020:
•    At-Large, currently held by Annette Brigham
•    At-Large, currently held by Sergio Coronado
•    At-Large, currently held by Armando Rodriguez
•    At-Large, currently held by Blanca Trout

Resources for Candidates:
These forms must be submitted to complete your application to run for a position on the school board:
•    Application for a Place on the Ballot
•    Appointment of a Campaign Treasurer (CTA)
•    Form CFCP – Code of Fair Campaign Practices
•    Texas Ethics Commission Forms and Instructions

Other resources:
•    Texas Secretary of State Election Forms
•    FAQ for Candidates
•    Become a Board Member: Resources for Board Candidates

Eligibility/Qualifications for Office:

•    Policy BBA (Legal)

Additional Information for Candidates:
•    Texas Secretary of State Elections Division
•    Texas Ethics Commission
•    El Paso County Elections Office
•    Elections Policy

Voter Information 

To the Registered Voters of Canutillo, Texas
Notice is hereby given that the polling places listed below will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, November 3, 2020, for voting in a General Election, to elect 4 (four) School Board Members at Large.

•    October 5, 2020 Last day to register to vote.

Monday, October 19, 2020 - Friday, October 30, 2020

Canutillo ISD Administrating Facility
7965 Artcraft Rd.
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

EPCC-Northwest Campus
6701 S. Desert Blvd.
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

El Paso County Northwest Annex
435 E. Vinton Rd.
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

•    List of Polling Places for Early Voting

On Election Day, voters must vote in their precinct where registered to vote.


Precinct 2
El Paso County Northwest Annex
435 E. Vinton Rd.
Anthony, TX 79821

Precinct 3
Canutillo Middle School
7311 Bosque Rd.
Canutillo, TX 79835

Precinct 4
Canutillo Elementary School
651 Canutillo Ave.
Canutillo, TX 79835

Precinct 5
Fire Station #2
111 E. Borderland Rd.
El Paso, TX 79904

Precinct 11
Brown Middle School
7820 Helen of Troy Dr.
El Paso, TX 79912

Precinct 12
Con. Sylvestre & Carolina Reyes Elementary School
7440 Northern Pass
El Paso, TX 79911

For additional information or questions regarding the application process, contact Liza Rodriguez at (915) 877-7481 or check the Secretary of State and Texas Ethics Commission Websites listed above.