Board Members

Meet Our Board of Trustees

Sergio Coronadp

   Sergio Coronado, President

Sergio Coronado was appointed to the Canutillo ISD Board of Trustees in 2018. He had previously served on the CISD school board from 2002 to 2014. During his four terms, he has served both as the President and as the Secretary of the Board. A 1978 graduate of Canutillo High School, Mr. Coronado has a bachelor’s degree from the University of Texas at El Paso and a law degree from the University of Texas at Austin. He is a respected lawyer practicing criminal law who is seen as a major political influence in the community. Mr. Coronado is a driving force behind the Canutillo Alumni Foundation for Education, a non-profit organization aimed at providing scholarships to college-bound CISD students. Mr. Coronado has three children, all of whom are Canutillo High School graduates.

Term: Nov. 2020-Nov. 2024  envelope Email    

 Salvador Payan

  Salvador Payan, Vice President

Mr. Salvador Payan is a graduate of Canutillo High School, attended The University of Texas at El Paso as a Criminal Justice major, and a U.S. Navy Vietnam veteran. He served as the Deputy Chief of Staff for Congressman Silvestre Reyes for 15 years. He retired from the U.S. Department of Justice Bureau of Prisons at La Tuna Federal Correctional Institution. Mr. Payan is very involved with the Village of Vinton participating in the Planning and Zoning Commission and also served on the Canutillo ISD District Advisory Committee. His children are also all graduates of Canutillo High School.

Term: Nov. 2018-Nov. 2022  envelope Email     

  Patsy Mendoza, Secretary

Patsy Mendoza worked for the Canutillo Independent School District for 33 years until her retirement. She specifically worked as an administrative assistant to the superintendent and Board of Trustees. Mendoza was previously elected to the Canutillo ISD Board of Trustees in 2010. She is a proud graduate of the class of 1974 from Canutillo High School.

Term: Nov. 2020-Nov. 2024  envelope Email

 Armando Rodriguez

  Armando Rodriguez, Trustee

Armando "Mando" Rodriguez is a Leadership TASB Master Trustee serving his fourth term on the Canutillo ISD School Board, where his fellow trustees have elected him as Board President, Vice President and Secretary. Rodriguez has the distinction of being one of the youngest people ever to be elected into office in El Paso County, and has made it his mission to improve the quality of education in his community – especially for underserved students.

A graduate of Canutillo High School and the University of Texas at El Paso, Rodriguez is a native of the Border and a leader in his community. Through his work, he ensures that students have access to high- quality educational and athletic facilities. He also is one of the founding members of the Canutillo Alumni Foundation for Education – the only organization specifically designed to award scholarships to Canutillo graduates.

During his time as a Trustee, Rodriguez has played a key role in modernizing Canutillo schools. Some of the accomplishments while on the Board include the establishment of Northwest Early College, a National Blue Ribbon School and one of the best high schools in the country according to U.S. News & World Report; the creation of the Canutillo Connect initiative that bridged the digital divide in the community by distributing Apple devices to all students and creating better internet connectivity throughout the District; and the back-to-back A rating for the District by the Texas Education Agency – the only District in the region to achieve this distinction.

Rodriguez’s work on behalf of students extends beyond El Paso. He serves on the Board of Directors of the National School Board Association, where he also serves as chair of the National Hispanic Council and as secretary of the National School Board Action Center. Just recently Rodriguez was nominated to serve as Secretary of the Texas Association of School Boards, the state’s largest public-education advocacy and support organization. He currently serves as the Region 19 Representative on the TASB Board of Directors. Other leadership positions for Rodriguez include being a member of the Board of Directors for the National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials. Previously, Rodriguez has served as president of the Mexican American School Board Association and the Far West Texas School Board Association.

Term: Nov. 2020-Nov. 2024  envelope Email   

Laure Searls

  Laure Searls, Trustee

Laure Searls was first elected to the Board in 1994 and has been elected as an officer during each of her past four terms. She has served as President during two terms, Vice President one term and Secretary one term. She is a dedicated and strong advocate for the children of the Canutillo community. Her involvement in the school district spans 25 years. Three area governmental agencies selected her to serve on the Board of Directors for the Central Appraisal District in El Paso. She has always been an active member of the community and strives for excellent leadership in her role as a trustee.

Term: Nov. 2018 -Nov. 2022 
envelope Email    

Blanca Trout

  Blanca Trout, Trustee

Mrs. Trout attended EPCC, holds an Associate’s degree in Business Administration and is a business owner. She was recently appointed as Vice-Chair of the El Paso County Republican Party where she has been an active member of the El Paso GOP serving as Deputy Voter Registrar, Voting Poll Election Clerk, Alternate Election Judge, Judge and a Delegate in the El Paso County and Texas Republican Convention. Mrs. Trout also has a certified license in aeronautics from the National Aviation Authority of Civil Aeronautics in Mexico. She is certified in adult, child & adolescent mental health and holds a certified teaching diploma from NAMI & the Alzheimer’s association. She also holds certifications from the El Paso Behavioral Health System and UT Health Science Center focusing on children with disabilities as well as geriatric patients. Mrs. Trout is also a Girl Scout leader and Honor Guard Commander of the Girl Scouts of the Desert South West council, and is also a certified teacher in folkloric dancing from Bellas Artes.

Term: Nov. 2020-Nov. 2024  envelope Email    

  Vacant, Trustee

Term: Nov. 2018-Nov. 2022  envelope Email